Saving of configuration files destroys symbolic links

Description

inspectIT does not handle symbolic links correctly during saving of configuration files (profiles, environments, business context, agent mapping) within folder ci and its subfolders.

Current situation:

  • inspectIT deletes the previous configuration file and creates a new file

  • this behaviour leads to problems if symbolic links are used to point to the configuration files which do not reside in inspectIT file structure

  • In that case, the symbolic link will be deleted and a new file is created

Future situation:

  • inspectIT handles symbolic links correctly by not deleting the file upfront

  • Already available configuration files will be reused and its content deleted and replaced by the new content

  • This behaviour also preserves creation date, update date and most likely file rights

Environment

None

Assignee

Matthias Huber

Reporter

Matthias Huber

Labels

None

Integrator

Marius Oehler

Components

Sprint

None

Fix versions

Affects versions

Priority

Lowest
Configure